Blog Post 4

You are stuck in a snow storm (or a sand storm), or you are lost in the bush. Describe your last moments. How will you react?

The trip out to the Siberian tundra started out well enough for Me and Viktor. The sky was clear and the roads empty of snow and black ice with only a slight breeze to remind us of the impending winter snow storms expected later this week.

Later in the afternoon around 4pm a sudden roaring wind blew up from the east and with it an unexpected snow storm reducing visibility on the road to barely 10 meters and soon I was losing control with the wheels due to the intense wind and now slippery icy road before blackness. I awoke sometime later in the snow next to my truck which was bent around a huge pine tree with the windows all smashed open and the doors ripped from their hinges as if by a monster of untold strength. Viktor was nowhere to be seen and the roaring wind was increasing in strength bringing with it snow storming so hard and fast it felt like thousands of miniature bullets slamming into me. It was at this moment I felt the pain, a large piece of glass was embedded in my lower abdomen which must have hit me when my body was thrown from the windows of the truck. There was blood and a lot of it, my first instinct was to find some kind of shelter and hope the storm subsides.

A collapsed Pine tree covered in old branches and leaves made little shelter but I could feel a cold numbness spreading through my body like some insidious corruption and knew it meant death to be out in the storm. I was tired, so tired I began to nod off but the pain in my side kept me awake for hours until the creeping numbness took hold of me and then there was nothing but blackness…

Tundra Biome: Climate, Location, Temperature, Precipitation, Plants and  Animals - Conserve Energy Future

image retrieved from https://www.conserve-energy-future.com/tundra-biome.php

Leave a comment